Summer has too good a connection

Why do good times have to fly by so fast. Can’t they have high latency and a terribly laggy connection forcing them to take longer. But, quite unfortunately, this summer was one with a far too good connection, at least 300 kb/s by my reckoning. And so we hit the end and school begins.

I’ll try to keep up on the blog as I haven’t been doing. Trying to think of yourself as an anti-role model works quite well really. If only there was sort of mine I could build to harvest motivation for myself. (Terran’s female voice from StarCraft echoes in my head: “We require more motivation”).

In terms of gaming, my latest obsession is the lesser known grand strategy game Europa Universalis III. This game is similar to Sid Meier’s Civilization series in that you start playing at 8:00pm and before you know it, it’s 2am. However it varies from Civilization in that it is not turn-based, but instead it is real-time. Well, not quite real-time; you can adjust how time flows from about a day passing every couple seconds, to a few days passing in every one second.

The entire game goes from 1453 to 1789, though you can choose exactly when you will start. You can also choose practically any country available at the starting time, and then proceed to micromanage every aspect of your civilization, from economic focus to hiring advisors to recruiting a military. Newcomers with be daunted at first, but a bit of practice will get you going with the game in no time.

4 Responses to Summer has too good a connection

  1. Iridescent says:

    Yeah, summer sure did fly by quickly. But times flies when you have fun (if only your connection improved when you had fun…). Hope your summer as alright.
    I’ve always wanted to try Europa Universalis but when I look it it looks so confusing so I stick with blasting heads in Gears of War and conquering nations in the Civ games.

    However Relic have released the beta of Opposing Fronts so I just had to try the new teams in that. Sadly I haven’t had a chance with the Panzer Lehr yet.

    Too bad you’re leaving ModDB though, I just joined!

    Have fun doing non-ModDB things

    *ponders as to what life is like outside ModDB*

  2. Hawk says:

    “If only there was sort of mine I could build to harvest motivation for myself. (Terran’s female voice from StarCraft echoes in my head: “We require more motivation”).”

    HOW I MINE 4 MOTIVATION?!?

    >.>
    <.<

    Sorry, I just couldn’t resist.

  3. Michael says:

    you missed a couple ?, lol

Leave a Reply

