Not Again…

“Why,” you ask me, “Why must you create yet another blog.”
“W- Well,” I nervously reply, “I felt like changing the name.”
You quickly dismiss the pathetic excuse. “Get me something better,” you demand.
“I- I was hoping to go in a new direction with the style of the blog,” I again reply nervously.
“Heard that one before, but never seen you actually change. Same lack of updates and unentertaining posts.”
“Fine, I got nothing left,” I reply, defeated. “Hell, it’s because I wanted a new banner with blueish bubbles.”
“Actually, I do like that touch,” you respond all too seriously, “I suppose I’ll let you go this time, but don’t let it happen again.”

Yep, you heard me correctly, I’ve trashed my previous blog in order to start with yet another clean slate. I’d attempt to explain the reason, but I have a feeling you’d rather hear about some of my more entertaining ventures then listen to my mouth run about my infuriating perfectionism.

Down to business. I just got myself the trial for EVE: Online a couple ‘o days ago. A sort of MMO space-sim that had long interested me, but never grabbed my attention enough for me to bother downloading it. Well, I’m glad it came to mind, because it’s really a dream game for me. In EVE, you begin by selecting which faction you wish to be in and then choose a sub-set of the race similar to classes in most MMOs. One you work your way through the complex character creation proccess you are launched into EVE’s mind-blowingly large universe. The game can be quite daunting for newcomers, with only a quick tutorial to instruct you, but after a couple days time and some glances at the online documentation you’ll become fairly comfortable with EVE’s universe and interface.

EVE: Online is by far the most sophisticated MMO I’ve seen, unlike most MMOs, combat is not the dominant aspect. It has a deep and realistic economy with detailed supply and demand charts and the ability to invest in companies, player run corporations (guild) that engage in real-world-like politics, and many more suprisingly developed features. However the overall complexity of the game slows it down a lot, and may turn off newer players. Nevertheless, I found EVE to be perfect for me and plan on subscribing once the generous 14 day trial expires.

The graphics are also of note. Perhaps the best I’ve ever seen in an MMO. The backdrop of space is made simply breathtaking by a number of impressive effects. Even menial tasks like mining are made fun as you watch the cool effects. The visuals are one aspect that not many can disagree with.

In the end, the degree to which you enjoy EVE boils down to how much time you’re willing to invest in it. In the beginning you’ll be forced to complete boring tasks such as mining and fedex missions, but later, if you are dedicated enough, you’ll aquire gigantic cruisers capable of engaging in jaw-dropping battles, and have chances to head enourmous corporations. Basically, you get what you put into EVE back 10-fold, but if you don’t put in much you don’t get back much of anything.

One Response to Not Again…

  1. Hey, this blog is about EVE! I usually play on thhaaazzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZzzzz

Leave a Reply

